How to Freeze and Press Extra Firm Tofu for its Best Texture and Flavor Absorption

How to Freeze and Press Tofu for its Best Texture and Flavor Absorption

Freezing and pressing tofu gives it its best texture and ability to absorb all the flavors of what you cook it with. It will change your view on tofu forever!

What to do:
Take an unopened package of extra firm tofu and freeze for at least 24hrs. Let it thaw by leaving it out or you can speed up the process by putting the unopened package in a bowl of hot (not boiling!) water. Keep changing out the water until package is completely thawed. Open your package of tofu and start squeezing all the excess water out of your block of tofu without crumbling it. Cut into your preferred shape (I love doing tofu triangles!) and you’re ready to pan fry or bake your tofu!

20 thoughts on “How to Freeze and Press Extra Firm Tofu for its Best Texture and Flavor Absorption

  1. Pingback: Sweet and Spicy Curried Tofu Taco Lettuce Wraps | The Veggie Slaughterhouse

  2. obviously like your web-site but you have to check the spelling on several of your posts.
    Several of them are rife with spelling problems and
    I in finding it very troublesome to inform the
    reality on the other hand I’ll certainly come back again.

    • Thank you for the feedback! I’m only one person behind this blog, trying to get recipes posted minutes before heading into work or taking care of whatever it is that I need to do for the day. I try to check my grammar and spelling the best that I can, it’s one of my biggest hangups with writing a blog, but naturally, mistakes will slip by me. I’ve caught some of those errors and will continue to fix them as I go.

  3. Hi there, this weekend is fastidious designed for
    me, since this occasion i am reading this wonderful informative
    paragraph here at my house.

  4. Appreciating the persistence you put into your site and in
    depth information you offer. It’s good to come across a blog every once
    in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed material.
    Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to
    my Google account.

  5. Hello everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this website,
    and paragraph is really fruitful in support of me, keep up posting
    such articles.

  6. Right here is the right blog for everyone who hopes to understand this topic.
    You know so much its almost hard to argue with you
    (not that I actually would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a brand new spin on a subject that’s been written about
    for a long time. Excellent stuff, just wonderful!

  7. I think this is one of the most important info for me. And
    i’m glad reading your article. But want to
    remark on some general things, The web site style is great, the articles is really excellent : D.
    Good job, cheers

  8. Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo
    News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed
    in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never
    seem to get there! Appreciate it

  9. Very good blog you have here but I was wondering if you
    knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics discussed here?
    I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get suggestions from other experienced individuals that share the same interest.
    If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks
    a lot!

Leave a Reply

